Symposium EM1

Advances in Energy Storage Devices

Chair: Prof. Nay Ming HUANG (XMUM)
Co-chair: Prof. Hang GUO (XMU)

Symposium Scope

World consumption of energy is increasing every year due to the modernization of the world. The world has become ever more polluted when energy is produced to make the world functional. Recent years there are huge initiatives to go for renewable energy such as solar, wind and ocean/wave energy to reduce the carbon emission to the environment. However, these renewable energies provide intermittent supply of energy and rely heavily on a storage system to make them more feasible. Thus, tonnes of research has been carried out all over the world to produce sophisticated and reliable energy storage system to compliment the renewable energy. Renewable energy and energy storage are two important components to ensure world energy sustainability and security. This symposium will gather scientists from all corner of the world working in this important field, enabling an intensive knowledge exchange in the advances of energy storage technologies.

Topics include, but will not be limited to:

  • Lithium ion battery/lithium sulphur battery/lithium metal battery/lithium polymer battery
  • Aluminum ion battery/Sodium ion battery/Magnesium ion battery/Zinc ion battery
  • Dual ions battery
  • Microbatteries
  • Supercapacitor/ultracapacitor/capacitor
  • Thermal energy storage technologies
  • Flywheels/pumped-hydro/compressed air systems
  • Fuel cells
List of Speakers (In No Particular Order)
  • Prof. Robert DRYFE, University of Manchester, UK
  • Prof. Yuming CHEN, College of Environmental Science and Engineering, Fujian Normal University, China
  • Prof. Chunyi ZHI, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong PRC
  • Prof. Qiang ZHANG, Tsinghua University, China
  • Dr. Minghao YU, Technische Universit√§t Dresden, Germany
  • Dr. Wu XU, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Dongliang CHAO, Fudan University, China
  • Prof. Feng LIN, Virginia Tech, USA
  • Assoc. Prof. Huolin XIN, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, USA
  • Dr. Yijin LIU, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Patrice SIMON, Universit√© Toulouse III Paul Sabatier, France
  • Prof. Guosheng SHAO, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Zhengzhou University, China
  • Assist. Prof. Zheng-Long XU, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong PRC
  • Prof Pieremanuele CANEPA, National University of Singapore, Singapore

(Last Updated 11 October 2021)

Prof. Nay Ming HUANG

Return to Scientific Program